jump to navigation

This One is for Australia, My Island Home 26 January 09

Posted by Fantastic Four in Australia.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Really, I don’t care which day it is celebrated; that is, I don’t care if there is controversy over whether January 26th should be THE Australia Day. I am just happy to have made Australia home, now over a decade ago and became an Australian citizen about 6 years ago. I am happy to celebrate an Australia Day and proud of my adopted home. There is only one downside of living here. I miss my family and it’s not a short distance to travel to see them. When I go “home” to visit my family, I miss “home”. When I was living in Ireland, Niall’s “home”,  we both missed “home”. We love it here and Australia has been a wonderful home to us.

Few songs that I like.

Great Southern Land by Icehouse:

I am Australian by The Seekers:

My Island Home by Christine Anu:

Land Down Under by Men At Work:

Home of the the original Australians who were not treated with the respect that they have deserved since the white man arrived at their island home:

Treaty by Yothu Yindi

Beds Are Burning by Midnight Oil (Lead singer the Minister of Climate Change, Environment, Heritage and Arts):

Qantas Ad:

(Frankly not my preferred airline to fly with, but the first time I saw this ad I had the goosebumps.)

Turkish people has a strange affinity with the Australians. When you visit Turkey and tell the Turkish locals you are from Australia, their typical hospitality and generosity for their guests triplefolds. I guess it comes from the battles in and around Gallipoli. The stories and legends of the Anzacs far away from home, battling the battles that someone else sent them to fight and Turkish soldiers simply and effectively defending their land. The stories of soldiers from both sides exchanging cigarettes and toilet papers after hours (when they stopped after sundown). The stories of bravery and horrors of battles fought chest to chest and not from the safety of missile bases. The stories of young men who never saw their 20th birthdays, never grew old.

Monument in Gallipoli

Memorial at the Anzac Cove in Gallipoli

Gallipoli – Memorial at Anzac Cove by Ataturk.

“Those heroes that shed their blood and lost their lives…

You are now living in the soil of a friendly country. Therefore rest in peace. There is no difference between the Johnnies and the Mehmets to us where they lie side by side here in this country of ours…

You, the mothers, who sent their sons from faraway countries wipe away your tears; your sons are now lying in our bosom and are in peace, after having lost their lives on this land they have become our sons as well.”

Ataturk, 1934

Band Played Waltzing Matilda performed by The Pogues:

Waltzing Matilda performed by the Seekers:

I also like this version very much:

Some say Australian National Anthem should be Waltzing Matilda and not Advance Australia Fair. See what Adam Hills has to say about that:

Gotta love Australian humour!

ADVANCE AUSTRALIA FAIR

Australians all let us rejoice

For we are young and free

We’ve golden soil and wealth for toil,

Our home is girt by sea:

Our land abounds in nature’s gifts

Of beauty rich and rare,

In history’s page let every stage

Advance Australia fair,

In joyful strains then let us sing

Advance Australia fair.

Beneath our radiant Southern Cross,

We’ll toil with hearts and hands,

To make this Commonwealth of ours

Renowned of all the lands,

For those who’ve come across the seas

We’ve boundless plains to share,

With courage let us all combine

To advance Australia fair.

In joyful strains then let us sing,

Advance Australia fair.

HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY !!!

Comments»

1. Megan - 26 January 09

Thanks so much for all the links, I will take some time tomorrow night to look at them.

Happy Australia Day to you!

2. Nick - 26 January 09

Happy Australia Day. Glad you love your adopted country so much!

3. Absolute Vanilla - 26 January 09

Happy Australia Day, Gaye – hope it’s been a great one!

4. Nick - 26 January 09

Just checked out all the links. Some great songs there. A bit sentimental perhaps but you can’t deny the wonderful feeling they inspire. Loved Adam Hills and his new version of AAF – a definite improvement, something with a bit of life in it!

5. wisewebwoman - 27 January 09

Gaye:
Do you know “The Band Played Walting Matilda?” which is about the Galipoli battle. Liam Clancy gives the best rendition of this. I never ever hear it without weeping. To me it is one of the best best best anti-war songs of all time.
Now I’m going to enjoy your links.
XO
WWW

6. wisewebwoman - 27 January 09

Gaye;
Great links, my dear. I enjoyed them all.
I also posted the song I mentioned on my blog with H/T to you.
XO
WWW

7. Baino - 27 January 09

Hope you had a good one Gaye. I love the Adam Hills version, I posted it last week, very funny. And yes, it’s a great place to live most of the time, wouldn’t swap it for quids . . .well, maybe Tahiti!

8. Gaye - 27 January 09

Thanks Megs ~ I just had to put up something here as I have reminisced the last 11 years of visiting than staying in Oz followed by the making her home.

Yes Nick ~ I have travelled to many different countries, I can live in any country (except for those where basic rights do not exist and people get public lashings / especially where there is no room for women to grow and feel good about themselves.) Home is where the heart is. Who knows though where I will be in 10 years. The only constant in my life is change.

WWW ~ I have put that song already there under the Gallipoli paragraph and the picture. But it was performed by the Pogues a band I really life. Plus I love hearing Irish accent in songs. I will go look at your site and listed to the song.

Baino ~ I had a relaxed day. I haven’t seen the Adam Hills version before or on your blog when you posted, not sure how I missed it. But I simply found it when I was doing a bit of Youtube search for the songs I like to link here and it showed up. It is great isn’t it?
I think I could live in… hmm.. no I can’t think of now. Canada is great actually having lived there for 18 months. Ireland is beautiful but I wasn’t that fond of the climate while we were there. I like sun on my face (minus the skin cancer) and blue skies almost all year around. And where do you get that? Turkey, well, the Mediterranean is wonderful I practically grew up on the beach despite living in the capital city. Government sucks and although my family lives there and I love them and my friends, I don’t see me going back in a hurry. I love it here. And I love visiting Turkey for holidays.

9. Quickroute - 27 January 09

Happy Oz Day – hope it was wonderful – suspected you were Irish but now confirmed!

10. Gaye - 27 January 09

Vanilla ~ Thanks dear friend 🙂

Quicky ~ Thank you, it was public holiday and I just reminisced and relaxed at home. I could have easily been Irish too, people were lovely there (not as friendly in Dublin certain parts I am afraid but in general lovely). 🙂

11. Nick - 27 January 09

Baino made the good point that Australia Day is on a day that recognises the first colonial settlement of Australia. I agree it should be moved to a day that also reflects the aboriginal presence.

12. Gaye - 27 January 09

Like which date? They have been on this land forever but never had a presence as a nation but more like tribes who lived off the land happily ever after until the white men arrived. What date is important in the history of aboriginal people? Australia really became a country after the colonial settlement so Australia Day had to be a date of significance as such.
Don’t misunderstand. I am all for changing it. I personally think Australia should stop being a subject of the Queen, take the Union Jack out of the flag and not be a Commonwealth country anymore. The day this happens can be a day both the aboriginals and Australians can celebrate.

13. conortje - 28 January 09

Sweet post. Hope you enjoyed the day.

14. Gaye - 28 January 09

Hey Conor. Yes I did thanks a million. 🙂 How’s your NY exercise regime coming along? Mine is struggling to start.

15. Nick - 28 January 09

It just occurred to me that everyone in the world lives on an island. It’s just that some are so huge they’re called continents.

16. Gaye - 28 January 09

But we are all interconnected, remember? Despite all the water that divides us. When are you coming back?


Leave a Reply

