jump to navigation

Happenings #4 – If by the time we are 40 and haven’t found true love… 12 November 08

Posted by Fantastic Four in Friends, Fun, Happenings, Life.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

There was only one memorable happening today ~ so far HA!

Selda.

This is the name of my best friend from childhood. We grew up together playing volleyball.

She was my volleyball teammate from age 10.

We used to argue, laugh, scheme, gossip, giggle, cheer, scream, cry, curse, travel, play, win and lose together. We shared rooms, we won championships. We secretly got drunk together. Our families of course knew each other. Our fathers strict, over protective. She had more freedom than I have. Afterwards I got to travel more than she has. We went to the same university. We fell in and out of love almost simultaneaously each time. We’d compare notes, who did we dump today? During the tournaments away from home, we’d find boys from other teams, have immediate crushes on them then secretly meet them after a volleyball game. Mind you, just to have some lemonade and chat, nothing sinister. We’d laugh and giggle with the boys until our coach would see us and send us back to our room and punish the whole team the next day ~ thousands of sit ups, pushups, sprints, ah the fun!

I lived in Norway and Canada. She studied and lived in the USA for a while. She returned home. I didn’t.

Eventually, at some point in time, we both got married. I never approved her choice, she hasn’t approved mine. We were happy then we were unhappy. Marriage the first time didn’t work out for either of us. We didn’t have children. We vowed that if by the time we are 40 and we haven’t managed to find true love, we’d marry each other! We lost contact for a while and haven’t seen each other for over 5 years now. Just e-mails here and there.

This morning we had a Skype chat, it was so good to hear her voice. We laughed until there were tears and still giggled about the old times. It seems the jokes we used to laugh at never got old, we laughed again.

We exchanged news, both new and old. What are you doing now? Where do you live? How’s life?

She is happy. I am happy. Life’s good. So far it looks like we won’t have to marry each other. Pity and relief!

What a spectacular happening!

PS: I found photos. Will scan and post them here, at the expense of a laugh or two by blogchums. Just remember, there was no fashion sense for anyone at some point in time or another!

Comments»

1. Megan - 12 November 08

Hey that’s neat! I have a friend that I only email at this point – we keep talking about getting together again but it never happens – it’s almost like we’re scared that we won’t have anything to say these days. From your experience, it sounds like we should probably go for it!

2. Gaye - 12 November 08

Yup you should if you have grown up together or been friends for a looooong time!

3. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah) - 13 November 08

This sounds like what a friend of mine describes as a “lifer” friendship. You know, BFF! So great to have mates like that who go back to your childhood. Hey, and who knows, you might yet have to marry one another! 😉

4. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah) - 16 November 08

Madam, you’ve been tagged for a meme over at my place… Oh go on, ya know ya wanna… 😉

5. Gaye - 16 November 08

AV! Hey, I don’t think we will!
BFF too funny, my car’s licence plate is BFF 95B. Too bad I don’t have anything special that happened in 1995, or to do with the number 95.

A MeMe? last time I did one of those things I said much more than I should have! I will go and check your place now in a minute!
Gx

6. Baino - 16 November 08

I’ve just had a weekend with four of my most fabulous friends in the world. The value of spending time with someone you know so well, and time makes no difference is wonderful. I love them deeply and they’re all so different. Once a year we get together and it’s like no time has passed. Very lucky we are. As are you to have such a friend.

7. Gaye - 17 November 08

Yep and yep and yep and yep! I am glad you had a great time away with friends.
Gxox


Leave a Reply

