jump to navigation

6am in Sydney 5 November 08

Posted by Fantastic Four in Dreams, Inspirational, Life, Politics, World Affairs, Worthy Causes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Obama for change

I wake up sharp at 6am, after a night of dreams, tossing and turning. I can’t stay in bed.

As soon as I get up what do I do?

Wash my face?

No.

Brush my teeth?

No.

Brush my hair?

No.

Put clothes on?

No.

What do I do?

I turn on the TV and log on to follow the news and the election.

What is happening to my body?

There is a lump in my throat, butterflies in my stomach, I am so nervous and excited my breathing more shallow today. It feels like my heart doesn’t fit in my chest.

I surely can’t be the only one. If this Turkish – Australian dual citizen living in Sydney feels so emotionally involved with the imminent change in the fate of a country, how must my American friends who live there, and who are voting for change, be feeling? I am not embarrassed to feel this way, this emotionally involved, because I care.

Please please please, may the whole world celebrate tonight and tomorrow the winds of change?

I have to link this, as it is one of the most profound, inspirational speeches a politician has ever given. What a brilliant orator! Talk about goosebumps! Under normal circumstances, I don’t even listen to a speech of a politician promising a world of progress and wealth, let alone getting goosebumps and lumpy throat.

PS: I did wash my face, brush my teeth and hair, and did get dressed, but only after reading/looking at the news!

Comments»

1. Joe - 5 November 08

I’M OUTRAGED AT THE BLACK PANTHERS SUPPRESSING VOTERS IN PHILLY POLLING PLACE

POLICE HAVE REMOVED A MAN IN BLACK PANTHER GARB WEILDING A BILLY CLUB AT A PHILLY POLLING PLACE. TWO MEN HAVE BEEN REPORTED BY A U.S. ARMY VETERAN TO POLICE AS THEY BLOCKED THE ENTRANCE TO THE POLLING PLACE. THEY CLOSED RANKS ON THE WHITE VETERAN AS HE ATTEMPTED TO ENTER THE POLLING PLACE. UPON LEAVING ONE OF THEM, WHILE TAPPING THE BILLY CLUB IN HIS HAND, TOLD THE VETERAN THAT HE DIDN’T WANT TO LEAVE THE POLLING STATION BECAUSE OBAMA HAD ALREADY WON THE ELECTION. HE ALSO STATED THAT “WE ARE SICK OF WHITE SUPREMECY.” POLICE REMOVED THE MAN FROM THE POLLING STATION, HOWEVER THE OTHER BLACK PANTHER WAS ALLOWED TO REMAIN THERE. VIEW THE VIDEO AT:

http://JOESCHMOEPOLITICO.WORDPRESS.COM/2008/11/04/BLACK-PANTHERS-SUPPRESS-MCCAIN-VOTERS-IN-PHILLY-POLLING-PLACE/

2. Gaye - 5 November 08

Hello Jo,
Try not to yell at me. The capital letters aren’t producing the intended effect but only giving the glimpse of a fanatic.

I do seem to attract a bit of interesting strangers here, but I think that is to be expected. I mean I don’t go seek out pro-McCain/Palin blogs and rant and rave there but it seems such people waste their precious time precisely doing the opposite.

I just went to the website of this individual (Joe?) to see what he really has to say. Gave it a chance that maybe there is some clever argument there. And saw a recent video he embedded on his blog. All in defence and support of conservative Republican point of view. The video was actually quite scary.

The guy in the video is proudly announcing he is pro-life. He says they should teach abstinance at schools instead of handing out free condoms, he says. So let’s ban sex among young people.
OK
Then he says something about being against slavery and pro-freedom.
Hmm
He is also homophobic. Marriage can and should only be between a man and woman.
Ignorant. He says “we are not better than everybody else, because we are everybody else.”
And this last one scared me the most. Anyone who cares for only themselves and sees themselves as the centre of the universe is scary. Anyone who doesn’t recognise we are one and all, and we are not black or white, better or worse. And we can’t just ignore simple facts of life like sex, the desire to make a lifelong committment between people of the same sex.
These people are making me nervous.

3. Gaye - 5 November 08

By the way although I don’t carry a billy club in my hand, and I am against all kinds of violence, I share the sentiment of being sick of the people who do believe in “white supremacy”, i.e. racist people.
Oooooo this election is getting more exciting by the minute.


Leave a Reply

